Key Stage 4

What you will study:

KS4 students will be able to choose Computer Science or ICT as an option at KS4. Every student will also follow a compulsory scheme of work in year 10 and year 11 in order to gain the ECDL (European Computer Driving Licence) qualificaion.

BCS Level 2 ECDL Certificate in IT Application Skills

The ECDL certification is an internationally recognised qualification valued by employers in all sectors. It offers a key recognition of literacy in computer skills and is designed for novices or casual computer users and will get students to a high computer literacy standard.

  1. Word Processing Software
  2. Spreadsheet Software
  3. Presentation Software
  4. Improving Productivity using IT

ECDL Assessment

Students will complete an online test in a controlled environment at the end of each unit. Tests are marked electronically and students will know results immediately.

Computer Science

The GCSE Computer Science course enables students to:

  • develop their knowledge and understanding of the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science
  • develop and apply computational thinking skills to analyse problems and design solutions across a range of contexts
  • gain practical experience of designing, writing, and testing computer programs that accomplish specific goals
  • develop the ability to reason, explain and evaluate computing solutions
  • develop awareness of current and emerging trends in computing technologies
  • develop awareness of the impact of computing on individuals, society and the environment, including ethical, legal and ownership issues
  • communicate computer science concepts and explain computational solutions clearly and concisely using appropriate terminology.

Computer Science Assessment

The Computer Science GCSE course is assessed through two external examinations, each worth 40% of the final course marks. The additional 20% is achieved by the completion of a programming task completed as a controlled assessment.

Future Options

This course supports students in their progression to courses in GCE Computer Science or BTEC Technical Levels in Computing with a clear knowledge and understanding of the subject.

Students will develop 'underpinning' concepts which are useful in many subjects, for example mathematics, science and engineering.

The course additionally provides the knowledge and skills leading to a wide range of careers including ;

  • Web developer
  • Network engineer
  • Games developer
  • Multimedia programmer
  • Systems developer
  • Web designer

AQA Information and Communications Technology

GCSE Information and Communication Technology helps students develop their knowledge of current and emerging technologies, a range of ICT tools and techniques and society's use of ICT. This specification requires students to develop their ability to work collaboratively. The course is made up of one externally assessed examination worth 40 per cent of the qualification and two controlled assessment units worth 30 per cent each.

Unit 1

Exam Unit

Unit 2

The Assignment is set by AQA. The Candidate Booklet will provide the description of a situation where the appropriate use of ICT will solve one or more tasks identified to candidates. Candidates are each required to produce a portfolio demonstrating their ability to identify requirements, and make appropriate use of ICT in providing solutions which they will analyse, design, implement, test, report and evaluate (self evaluation and evaluation of other's use of ICT).

Unit 3

Practical Problem Solving in ICT, aims to develop the skills in candidates to enable them to work independently and tackle practical aspects of solving a problem. It is clear that employers value and wish to employ young people with independence and problem solving skills. Candidates must work to produce an individual portfolio of work in hard copy. This work must be based upon solving the problems arising from one of the six tasks provided by the examination board.

AQA Information and Communications Technology Assessment

Students will sit the Unit 1 exam at the end of year 11. Unit 3 coursework is completed in year 10, while unit 2 coursework is completed in year 11.